The Sengoku Jidai Variant
about the DPjudge | the DPPD | common questions
Contents Basic Rules
· Basic Rules
· Map Notes
· Design Notes

The normal rules of the game of Diplomacy apply, with the following additions, exceptions, and clarifications.

The map that is used is a map of medieval Japan. There are eight powers in the game. Each of these powers begins with two units.

Asakura Army Omi Fleet Echizen
Chosokabe Fleet Iyo Fleet Tosa
Hojo Army Sagami Fleet Izu
Mori (R) Army Iwami Fleet Nagato
Oda (D) Army Owari Fleet Mikawa
Shimazu Army Satsuma Fleet Osumi
Takeda Army Kai Army South Shinano
Uesegi Army Kozuke Fleet Echigo

The power abbreviation for Mori is R, and for Oda is D.

Additionally, six of the 21 neutral centres begin the game occupied by an unowned army, which HOLDs on each turn and may be supported by any player. When this army is dislodged, it does not retreat; it is destroyed. If however the player attacks in Spring and exits in Fall, so that the center is not yet captured, a new unowned unit will be built there.

Players may build new units on any owned supply center.

The map contains 37 supply centers; control of 15 is required for victory. The game is to be played until a solo victor is determined (no draws are allowed).

The first turn is Spring 1570.

Map Notes
The spaces Bitchu and Sanuki are considered land contiguous, as are Nagato and Chikuzen, and Iyo and Bungo, though they all appear separated by water on the map. Both armies and fleets may cross from one of these territories directly to the other in each pair. Movement by fleets through the surrounding sea zones is unaffected.
Design Notes

The Sengoku Jidai variant was created by Benjamin Hester.

The DPjudge is copyright © 1995-2024 by Manus Hand. All rights reserved.