The Chaos Variant
about the DPjudge | the DPPD | common questions
Contents Basic Rules
· Basic Rules
· Design Notes

  1. The normal rules of Diplomacy apply except where amended herein.

  2. The chaos variant is played by 34 players, each beginning the game by owning a single supply center on the standard Diplomacy map.

  3. The game starts in the Winter 1900 Adjustment phase. Each player starts the game choosing which type of unit they wish to build and progressing from there.

  4. When building units, a unit may be built at any owned supply center.

  5. The single-character abbreviation (for use in SIGNON and PRESS TO commands in the DPjudge's e-mail messages) for each of the 34 powers is as follows:
    Ankara: A Belgium: B Berlin: C Brest: D Budapest: E Bulgaria: F Constantinople: G
    Denmark: H Edinburgh: I Greece: J Holland: K Kiel: L Liverpool: N London: P
    Marseilles: Q Moscow: R Munich: S Naples: T Norway: U Paris: V Portugal: W
    Rome: X Rumania: Y Serbia: Z Sevastopol: 0 Smyrna: 1 Spain: 2 St Petersburg: 3
    Sweden: 4 Trieste: 5 Tunis: 6 Venice: 7 Vienna: 8 Warsaw: 9  
Design Notes

Michel Ferion is credited with creating the Chaos variant.

Note that the Ken Lowe judge's avoidance of the letter "O" as a SIGNON power identifier is continued by the DPjudge in this variant (and in void), even though on the DPjudge, only the letter "M" is reserved (for the Master). [The Ken Lowe judges use the letter "O" to identify all observers.]

The DPjudge is copyright © 1995-2024 by Manus Hand. All rights reserved.